League of LegendsSwarm

League of Legends Swarm Guide: A Complete Breakdown

Table of contents

Everything We Know About Swarm- Operation Anima Squad (2024 Summer Event)

In July 2024, Riot is going to release a brand new game mode. This game mode is called Swarm, Anima Squad and it is a PvE game mode. A PvE game is where you can play with friends against robots or enemies that are not controlled by real people.

It is a League of Legends mixed with Vampire Survivors, and if you’re an experienced League of Legends player, you may remember similar PvE games Riot has made in the past. This new game mode is similar to some of those. In this Mobalytics article, we will discuss everything we know so far about Riot Games’ Summer Event.

Here at Mobalytics, we are creating a lot of content for the new game mode. As there is a lot to digest, be on the lookout for more articles, including individual champion guides for different champions, and much more over on the Mobalytics Blog.

An Overview

In Swarm, you can play one of 9 champions. These champions are Jinx, Seraphine, Aurora, Illaoi, Leona, Xayah, Yasuo, Riven and Briar. You can team up with up to 3 friends or play alone against waves of enemies.

This is the first League of Legends game mode that doesn’t play with a mouse + keyboard. Instead, you move your champion around with the WASD keys instead (but there is an option to play with the mouse if you prefer). You also do not need to aim to attack enemies, as these types of game modes do it for you.

When you start the game, you only start with your Passive, but once you hit level 3 and 6, you’ll unlock additional abilities to help you. You can level up by killing things and getting the XP from them. When you level up, you can pick one of 3 Augments to enhance your champion.

You can get a total of 4 additional weapons and 6 skills. You can evolve these abilities by getting Augments that empower certain things. If you hover over a spell, it will tell you what is needed to evolve it.

How to Play

Bullet Heaven, Vampire Survivors or whatever you want to call it is a very simple game. You start with a weapon and have to kill enemies. These enemies give you XP which you use to level up and unlock more weapons.

To play, you just need to keep moving around and hitting the enemies. Don’t worry, though, as this is all done for you. You just need to be on the move and dodge those incoming projectiles to help you stay alive.

There are some shrines and missions that are on each of the maps, and succeeding in the missions grant you bonuses to enhance your champion. Usually, they’re spread across the map- so you can’t just hog one area of the map for the whole game.

After a certain period of time, you will come up against bosses that need beating to progress through and win the game. These are mega monsters that are quite difficult to kill.

When Does the Game Mode Come Out?

The Swarm Operation Anima Squad event runs from July 17th. This is also their big Summer Event, and the champion Aurora will also be released around this time. You can find out more information on Aurora with these articles we’ve made recently.

Aurora Ability Breakdown

Aurora Leaks and News

Battle Bunny Aurora Splash Crop

What Champions Can Be Played

Unfortunately, the overwhelming majority of champions are not able to be played in this game mode. There is a set few that anyone can pick though. There are 9 champions in total that are playable in this game mode. These include:

  • Jinx
  • Seraphine
  • Aurora
  • Illaoi
  • Leona
  • Xayah
  • Yasuo
  • Riven
  • Briar

Battle Dove Seraphine Splash Crop

There are other champions you will find in this game mode, too. This list contains Bosses and other champs who pop up too.

  • Bel’Veth
  • Aatrox
  • Rek’Sai
  • Yuumi

Cyber Cat Yuumi Splash Crop

You will find these enemy bosses on different maps and levels.

Champion Abilities

Jinx Abilities

  • Get Excited
  • Fishbones!
  • Super Mega Death Rocket!

Seraphine Abilities

  • Stage Presence
  • Surround Sound
  • Perfect Note

Leona Abilities

  • Sunlight
  • Eclipse
  • Solar Flare

Illaoi Abilities

  • Primordian Resilience
  • Tentacle Smash
  • Leap of Faith

Briar Abilities

  • Survival Instincts
  • Fish Frenzy/ Survival Scream
  • Dive Bomb

Yasuo Abilities

  • Way of the Wanderer
  • Sweeping Blade
  • Wind Wall

Riven Abilities

  • Runic Blade
  • Valor
  • Blade of the Exile / Wind Slash

Aurora Abilities

  • Spirit Abjuration
  • Across the Veil
  • Between Worlds

Xayah Abilities

  • Battle Bat Engage
  • Bladecaller
  • Bladestorm

Battle Cat Xayah Splash Crop

How to Progress

There are a total of 4 maps in Swarm. Warehouse District, The Outskirts, Subterranean Lab, and The Beachhead. After completing all the levels, you will unlock a new queue exclusively played on hard difficulty.

Progressing from one level to another is achieved by completing objectives. Once all the objectives in a mode are met, the next mode (and map) is unlocked. The real prize, however, is in completing the story, which unlocks additional bonuses and rewards.

At the 15-minute mark, the maps boss arrives. You then have to kill the boss or be killed by it to finish the game.

In Conclusion

That sums up our article on everything we know so far about the new game mode. What do you think of Riot Games’ Summer event? Are you excited to play, or are you not bothered by it? Let us know below.

Stay up to date with the latest news the Anima Squad Event with the Mobalytics Blog