Diablo IVGuides

Diablo 4 World Tiers Guide (Everything You Need to Know)

Diablo 4 World Tiers Explained

In this beginner guide, we’ll be covering the fundamentals of Diablo 4 World Tiers.

Games are often known to have various difficulty settings, but when it comes to Diablo 4, changing the difficulty means more than just an added challenge…it means greater rewards!

There are currently four World Tier levels and you can change them at any time (once you unlock the choices).

Let’s dive into what Diablo 4 World Tiers are, how to change them, and the differences between them.

Once you have World Tiers figured out, be sure to check out our Diablo 4 site for builds and more.

What are Diablo 4 World Tiers?

World Tiers are the difficulty setting for Diablo 4. Each tier increases enemies’ power level, but also changes the odds of finding more or better loot.

In fact, some types of items can only be found on higher World Tiers. So while it may feel good to slay large hordes of demons in seconds, amping up the challenge is necessary if you’re seeking the best gear!

How do I change my current World Tier in Diablo 4?

To change your World Tier, you can modify it from the character select screen, or in-game by interacting with a World Tier Statue.

Diablo 4 world tier statue

World Tier I: Adventurer (Default Option)

The Adventurer tier is the easiest difficulty in the game, and one of two initial options players can choose from. Adventurer is mainly mean’t for newcomers, or any players who want an easier experience. There are no additional rule changes at this tier.

Diablo 4 world tier 1

World Tier II: Veteran (Default Option)

Veteran is the second tier available from the start of the game. These enemies will have more fight in them, but will also reward increased gold and experience! I would consider this the standard difficulty level, and is the ideal choice for faster progression. If you have experience with past Diablo games, played other similar titles, or simply want an increased challenge, then Veteran is the best choice for you!

Diablo 4 world tier 2

World Tier III: Nightmare (How to Unlock)

The Nightmare tier is where the rewards get more interesting! However, in order to unlock World Tier III, you must complete the Campaign and Cathedral of Light Capstone Dungeon in Kyovashad, on Veteran difficulty. In addition, it’s recommended that you are at least level 50 or above before moving up to this tier.

Once players reach World Tier III, they will be able to find higher grade items such as Sacreds and Uniques. It will also unlock increasingly challenging content such as Nightmare Dungeons, Helltides, and Champion monsters. Then of course, enemies will be more powerful overall, while granting even more gold and experience.

Diablo 4 world tier 3

World Tier IV: Torment (How to Unlock)

The final World Tier brings the greatest challenge, and even greater rewards! The Torment tier will unlock after completing the Fallen Temple Capstone Dungeon in northeastern Dry Steppes, on Nightmare. It’s recommended to be at least level 70 or higher before taking on World Tier IV.

Torment brings with it the highest increase in gold and experience, but monsters will be at their peak challenge. Survival will be a lot tougher, as monsters will overcome 40% of your resistances! But with this increased challenge comes the greatest of items; Ancestrals. It’ll now be possible to find the best loot that’s out there, as some Unique items are unavailable even on Nightmare.

Diablo 4 world tier 4

Rest assured that no matter which difficulty you decide to take on, you’re never committed to it. If a challenge proves to be too difficult on Nightmare, you always have the option of dropping down to Veteran. Just remember, when completing Capstone Dungeons, you’ll need to be at the highest difficulty available to you in order to unlock the next one.